The ups and downs of revising

I’m in the midst of deep revisions and it’s been a tidal wave.

There’s been great ups and revelations, and even greater struggles. One of the weirdest things I struggle with is giving a character TOO MANY flaws.

Yes, two many. I make Pollyanna’s evil doppelganger.   I love deeply DEEPLY flawed characters, characters I wasn’t meant to like or even love. And I usually hate the character I’m supposed to root for. While that’s great for my warped mind, it’s not great for a mass audience.

But I choose to celebrate revisions! Even the toughest ones which make me ponder another rewrite because that’s how I roll. And what’s the absolute best way to celebrate it? With a massive awesome gif party- Rocky Balboa edition!

 

How I felt after finishing my draft

 

How my draft felt about me

 

Approaching revisions

 

 

What I tell myself when I get feedback from my critique groups/beta readers

 

Critiquing myself

 

After a super productive brainstorming session with one of my bff writers

 

Diving into revisions like a boss

 

What I hope to say to my manuscript when it’s done

 

What I’ll continue to do for now

 

Leave your favorite revising gif in the comments!

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

