The Next big thing meme

My good friend Kelsey tagged me in the next big thing meme. And since my novel is currently in the hands of beta readers, thought I’d participate!

And on a side note, this will be my last post on this blog. I will be moving to a different site in the next few months.

WHAT IS THE WORKING TITLE OF YOUR BOOK? Kissing a gorgon. A gorgon is a Greek mythological creature, mostly associated with Medusa. My main character is a modern gorgon who lives in NYC.

WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM? I got laid off in the summer of 2009 and was on the verge of turning 30. I was really nervous about turning 30 and being unemployed. To me that time before was so incredibly nerve-wracking because I didn’t know what waited for me on the other side. I didn’t feel like I was where I thought I should be. And one long day I got caught up watching the biography channel’s special on Anne Rice. And it talked about how she dealt with some personal tragedies with her writing and created characters that mirrored her emotions. And it hit me. What would be the absolute worst thing about turning 30? And I remembered my Medusa obsession..and lo and behold. Gorgons have to wait until they turn 30 to find out if they can turn living things into stone. And she had to have a crazy ex, who was the former god of war, who wanted her back. And the cherry on top? Her awesome best friend Hermes who is bi-sexual.

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

 It’s a lot urban fantasy and a little bit chick lit.

WHICH ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOSE TO PLAY YOUR CHARACTERS IN THE MOVIE ADAPTATION? 

This is a tough one. Medusa is a rather spunky/sarcastic/nervous wreck of a gorgon who over thinks everything.  I could see Maggie Gyllenhall playing her. She’s got a great vulnerability as well as a great sense of strength. Also I could see Deborah Ann Woll take the role too. She’s amazing on the HBO show, True Blood.

But I so want Michael Urie to play Hermes. He’s the best damn thing about the sitcom, “Partners.”

 WHAT IS THE ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?
Sex and the City starring Medusa

WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBBED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENT? 
Represented by an agent. I think every writer has to find their own path. I know self-pub is easier but I like challenges. I don’t want to go it alone. I want to work someone who believes in my story as much as I do.


 HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE THE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR BOOK? 
First draft? A year. Then after extensive critiques, realized I had to cut the sucker in half and totally rewrite the 2nd half. It would’ve been easier to saw myself in half. But I did it.


 MAY WE SEE AN INTRO? 
Here’s my first paragraphs:

I hated desperate local news reporters more than bold subway rats. I hated the fact Hermes sent me to talk to one on my birthday because he was “too fragile” to face his “public” after our emotional goodbye. I slid his small goodbye gift inside the pocket of my dark blue dress and adjusted my black goggles, hiding my red puffy eyes. It didn’t even occur to my best friend that me being on camera tonight could be a disaster, a viral video in the making.  Never mind the fact that I hated the way my snakes looked on film; fat and awkward.
            Oh for queen’s sakes, it was Luann Jenkins. A sad forty-something human and Manhattan implant from Mississippi who looked at gorgons and fallen gods as if we were low-income aliens from space. That special mix of bigotry and classism. Thanks, Hermes. Love you too.
            She huffed as I made my way down the steps of Hermes’s new brownstone building on the Upper West Side. Her stiff block of over-processed hair didn’t move an inch. “Who the hell are you?”

 WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY TO? 
I’ve been doing a lot of thinking over this recently. I would say a mix of bridget jones diary mixed with the Sookie stackhouse mysteries.


 WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS STORY? 
My fear of turning 30. And people I’ve known and worked with along the way. I wanted to write a novel people my age could relate to. Growing up isn’t what it used to be.

It’s also a look at the bigotry that exists outside a culture. Many times people will torment and mock a person because they don’t act like people think they should. Medusa gets mocked by other gorgons because she doesn’t fit into neat little gorgon stereotypes and norms. I’ve dealt with similar things.

 WHAT ELSE ABOUT YOUR BOOK MIGHT PIQUE READERS’ INTEREST?
Medusa is seriously funny. For all the troubles she goes through she finds humor in the oddest places and times. She’s the girl who laughs at inappropriate times. And she’s got a wild streak that Dionysus loves to coax out of her with little effort.

You can find me on twitter, @thefebemoss

Have a great year everyone!

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: New year, New blog | Febe Moss

Leave a Reply

