Apparently Christmas and Pot don’t mix..in movies.

I have looked into the darkness.  Something so horrible, so scary, so soul shaking that I am at a loss on how to tell the tale to my dear readers, but I will try.

This darkness is called..the first trailer for the Harold and Kumar Christmas movie.  Click on it..if you dare.

Okay, let me just say that I was a huge fan of the first movie.  I saw it in theaters at least a handful of times.  Me and the husband loved it so much we each had our own copies when we were dating.  It was an enormous decision for us to sell one of our copies after we got married.  Yeah, we loved the movie that much.  I watch it every time it’s on TV.  I can quote lines from the movie.

How can you NOT love this movie?  Love this still. This is how I looked after the credits.
Needless to say I was crazy excited about the sequel.  However, it didn’t live up to my crazy high expectations.  It wasn’t horrible it just wasn’t what I was expecting.  I’ve never bought the dvd and I barely watch it when it’s on TV.  It just wasn’t that memorable.  I didn’t hope for a third movie.  I will say that Neil Patrick Harris was THE SINGLE BEST THING about the sequel.  I mean the man seems to do no wrong.  The recent smurfs movie doesn’t count.  I like to pretend it doesn’t exist.  Let’s move on..
Then I heard about a third Harold and Kumar movie, about Christmas.  I thought, “Oh..okay I can buy this.  Maybe get stoned, fuck an elf chick, get stranded on the north pole..okay it could work.”   If I could, I would go back in time and slap some sense into myself.  
This is the synopsis from IMDB:
Six years have elapsed since Guantanemo Bay, leaving Harold and Kumar estranged from one another with very different families, friends and lives. But when Kumar arrives on Harold’s doorstep during the holiday season with a mysterious package in hand, he inadvertently burns down Harold’s father-in-law’s beloved Christmas tree. To fix the problem, Harold and Kumar embark on a mission through New York City to find the perfect Christmas tree, once again stumbling into trouble at every single turn. Written by Mandate Pictures

THEY HAVEN’T TALKED FOR SIX YEARS??  I’m not buying it.  There’s no way that would happen.  After everything they’ve been through?  Nope, nu-uh, no way.  The humor in the first movie came so easy, no natural.  This trailer seems so forced, like they are trying so hard to be edgy and wild.   It doesn’t work.  

But I will say this, NPH still looks pretty awesome.  I can’t deny the power of NPH.  He improves every scene.  

I hate when writers don’t know the characters and force them into a story that shouldn’t have happened.  It reminds me of the horror that was Sex and the City 2.  I hate when the characters I once loved and adored become caricatures of themselves.  They exist simply to move the plot along and get to the next joke or drama.  You can place a piece of cardboard in front of the camera and it’d be the same thing.  

Let’s be honest, I will more than likely see it, because I’m a sucker for Harold and Kumar.  I will take with me the small hope that MAYBE the movie might still have some of the charm of the first movie.  But I hate 3D and half that trailer is people shoving 3D in your face like an old lady shoving cake up to your nose.  I’m not having either of that.

What movies have you continued to see the sequels even though they continue to disappoint you?    I am going to cuddle my Harold and Kumar White Castle DVD and rock myself to sleep.
6 Comments

  1. I enjoyed the first Harold and Kumar, but I'm afraid that Guantanamo Bay was a little "too soon" to be funny for me, so I didn't watch it.  This new one looks like a fun friday night no-brainer, will-actually-make-me-stupider-for-having-watched-it, take-me-out-of-real-life fun fest that I could totally do.  Just not in 3D.  Thanks for showing this trailer, I had no idea this was coming out.

  2. I enjoyed the first Harold and Kumar- I didn't watch the second only because it looked like it was trying too hard.  (Even though I was admittedly looked forward to every second with NPH) You know, about the Smurfs, I just shrug and remind myself that he has twins to take care of now.  I have no desire to see it, but I'm sure that his paycheck helped really kick off their college funds.

  3. The second one had it's moments.  It wasn't entirely bad it just wasn't a good as the first one.  I really wanted them to get into weird hi jinks in Amsterdam.  that would've been pretty cool.  The whole kumar love story was a bit forced. 

  4. It wasn't too soon for me, I enjoy satire but it was just trying to hard  to really make a good statement.  In the first movie, they had some great points about identity and prejudice.  Yeah I'm 3D-ed out.  It's so expensive and not worth it anymore.

  5. Hi Febe. (From LadiesWhoCritique)Thanks for the info on Harold and Kumar. I've never watched these movies but laughed (as hard as I tried not to) at the videos you posted. LOLI've loved so many movies to only be disappointed with the sequels. In my experiences, with a few exceptions, they're usually a waste of time. Thanks for the fun post – and the smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

