Let’s talk about Sax

Lady Gaga’s newest song, edge of glory, brought up an important issue for me.  The issue of sax.  I grew up in a sax heavy decade, the 80’s.  I was a child of the 80’s and you can’t have the 80’s without the saxophone. It was everywhere in movies and music.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love me some good sax but unfortunately, it doesn’t belong in today’s modern pop music.  Maybe if a huge shift away from the current electric sound occurs, but I don’t see it happening anytime soon.  The current electric sound mirrors the tech laden world we live in.  The sax sound is about back alley’s laced with steam, and delicate curtains.  Yes, Gaga had these elements in her video.
Which leads me to question, is her album a giant masterful parody of the 1980’s pop sound?  It would be genius!  Because otherwise, it’s just a little girl trying to wear madonna’s big girl shoes and not pulling it off.  It’s such a disappointment in an otherwise promising career.  It goes back to my age old theory, you are screwed if your first album is off the charts successful.  The follow up is a bitch.  That’s for another post..
Back to the sax.  When used correctly, (before 2000), the sax can be the perfect sound to compliment the 80’s/early 90’s sexual sadness sound.  When I hear a sax solo, I know either one of two things is happening or about to happen: 1)Someone is about to get laid in a major life affirming way or 2)Someone is walking through the streets mourning love or if it’s REALLY 80’s, 3)someone is about to have some hot and heavy sad sex.    Either way, emotions and/or fluids are about to flow like a mighty tide.  Also, the sax is the sound of summer in the 80’s.  Weiners abound when the sax is around.  
Evidence no. 1
Originally, this post was scheduled for last Sunday, but strangely and sadly, the saxophonist for Bruce Springsteen passed away.  It is still acceptable for Bruce to be making new music with new sax but that’s because he sticks to his genre.  I’m not the biggest bruce fan, but he never seems to be outside the ballpark from the albums he was making in the sax laden 80’s.  Sax fits there.
But gaga came out with a different and mind blowing sound.  Then bad romance came out and I was drooling at the mouth.  It has led me to believe it’s her magnum opus.  I’m all for artists trying new sounds and forging new paths.  Madonna is the ultimate chameleon.  But Gaga’s new saxiness is a step back, not forward.  I thought she was an innovator.  But now she seems like a copycat, a wannabe, and forgettable.  
Edge of Glory sounds like something Celine Dion could sang in the late 90’s and had a hit.  In fact, I would LOVE if Celine would cover Edge of Glory and sing the shit out of it.  Her glorious french Canadian pipes would affirm my faith in life..or sax.  or something.  I think all the sax is getting to me.
Overdosin’ on Sax
Lastly, I think Gaga needs to really take a break after this album and really focus on what her next album will be.  Don’t go back, go forward.  I know she loooooves Madonna, so much she ripped off “Express Yourself” to pen her own gay anthem, but she needs to find her own way.  I think she got lost in the sax.  Too much christian themes, and sax.  (Don’t get me started on her telling protesters outside her concert that all her fans believe in GOD! ugh.)  I think the fame has predictably gotten to her head.  And if you have trouble finding your way in the dark as you mournfully walk down the street, maybe Rob Lowe’s epic sax solo will help light your way.  And maybe just maybe, you can pen an even better album than “The Fame.”  You’ll be alright if you just put down the sax gaga. Put it down, and walk away.
Your guide towards a non-saxy world.
My favorite example of awesome 90’s sax.
Rhythm Syndicate – Hey Donna. Saw them perform this live. My pre-teen self thought it was epic since the lead singer looked me in the eyes a couple of times.  
Share your favorite sax solo’s below.  Let’s sax it up in this post.
3 Comments

  1. I've never, until this post thought of the sax as the harbinger of sad sex- mindblowing yes – but now that I think about it – all that labored blowing, clutching, and final glorious release after a strenuous performance…it makes sense to me now. Thank you for opening my eyes, Febe, you've saxified me.That said, "Weiners abound when the sax is around." – You NEED to copyright that shit! 😉 Meryl

Leave a Reply

